Pancreatic Cancer Network Appoints Chair of SMAB

Doctors TrialsiteN

The Pancreatic Cancer Network, the largest organization tackling the world’s toughest cancer, announced new leadership for its Scientific and Medical Advisory Board (SMAB).  Andrew M. Lowy, MD, FACS, Professor of Surgery and Chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology at the University of California San Diego School of Medicine, will take the helm as its new chair, effective immediately.  Margaret A. Tempero, MD, Director of the UCSF Pancreas Center and Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco is the new chair-elect.

PanCAN’s SMAB is composed of leading cancer scientists, clinicians and healthcare professionals who specialize in pancreatic cancer from institutions all across the United States. The SMAB provides scientific and clinical expertise to guide PanCAN in planning and implementing its research initiatives, as well as its in-depth information, resources and services for patients, caregivers and health professionals.

All members of SMAB contribute their expertise on a pro-bono basis with no conflict of interest between their professional work and the volunteer work they do for PanCAN.                                                                                                                                        In addition to Lowy and Tempero, the following are members of the PanCAN SMAB:

Dafna Bar-Sagi, PhD, Perlmutter Cancer Center/ NYU Langone HealthGregory Beatty, MD, PhD, University of PennsylvaniaJordan Berlin, MD, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer CenterSuresh Chari, MD, Mayo ClinicEric A. Collisson, MD, University of California, San FranciscoHoward Crawford, PhD, University of MichiganChanning Der, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel HillGeorge A. Fisher, Jr., MD, PhD, Stanford UniversityJason Fleming, MD, Moffitt Cancer CenterJoseph M. Herman, MD, MSc, MD Anderson Cancer CenterManuel Hidalgo, MD, PhD, Weill Cornell MedicineSunil Hingorani, MD, PhD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research CenterMichael Hollingsworth, PhD, University of Nebraska Medical CenterHedy Kindler, MD, University of ChicagoAlison Klein, MHS, PhD, Johns Hopkins UniversitySteven Leach, MD, DartmouthAnirban Maitra, MBBS, MD Anderson Cancer CenterNipun Merchant, MD, University of MiamiJeannine Mills, MS, RD, CSO, LD, DartmouthNicholas Nissen, MD, Cedars-Sinai Medical CenterEileen O’Reilly, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer CenterGloria Petersen, PhD, Mayo ClinicPhilip Agop Philip, MD, PhD, Karmanos Cancer CenterVincent Picozzi, MD, Virginia Mason Medical CenterRosalie C. Sears, PhD, Oregon Health & Science UniversityDiane Simeone, MD, Perlmutter Cancer Center/ NYU Langone HealthHilary Turnberg, BSN, RN, Virginia Mason Medical Center.

For information contact Julie Vasquez Public Relations Manager, Pancreatic Cancer Action Network, 310-697-9129 or [email protected]